Peer Duel, Compound With AI

Adyen vs Stripe: who wins the next decade?

Merchant acquiring and payment infrastructure. ADYEN (Euronext Amsterdam) / Stripe, Inc. (private, no audited financials published). Run 17 September 2026. Adyen evidence: annual reports FY2023 to FY2025, shareholder letters H2 2025 and H1 2026, Talon.One deal document and call transcripts (research folder sources). Stripe evidence: Stripe annual updates for 2022 to 2025, Stripe newsroom, and press reporting (The Information, Axios, TechCrunch, American Banker), labeled press or inferred. Events swept through 17 Sep 2026; most recent events checked: Stripe Link integration with Meta's Muse agent (8 Sep 2026) and Adyen India expansion report (9 Sep 2026). Figures in EUR; Stripe USD converted at ECB average EUR/USD 1.0824 for 2024 and approx. 1.13 for 2025 (approx., unverified). Not a valuation and not a recommendation.

AdyenStripe
The Call
Stripe is the stronger business for the next 5 to 10 years, by a narrow margin, and the confidence is capped by the fact that none of its profit figures are audited.
Stripe is the default payments stack for the businesses being founded now, AI companies above all, and earns about twice Adyen's take rate on each unit of volume. Adyen answers with a leaner cost engine and deeper enterprise lock-in, which wins on margin and resilience but not on where the next decade's volume is born.
1
Scale has flipped. Stripe's $1.9T 2025 volume (about EUR 1.68T) now exceeds Adyen's EUR 1.39T, growing 34% vs 8% reported (21% excluding one large customer). (Stripe 2025 update; Adyen H2 2025 letter)
2
Monetization gap. Stripe net revenue of about $6.8B on $1.9T implies about 36 bps vs Adyen's 17.0 bps. The gap is mix and pricing model, not a one-off. (The Information, 22 Jul 2026, press; Adyen AR 2025)
3
Adyen's counter is real but defensive. It posts a 53% EBITDA margin, 838K terminals, and share of wallet rising from under 20% to over 40%, yet it bought Orb and Talon.One in 2026 to reach software and AI businesses that Stripe already serves. (Adyen H1 2026 letter)
Growth profile
Stripe - clear
Margin conversion
Adyen - narrow
Resilience
Adyen - narrow
The three answers, argued below. Left lean favors Adyen, right lean favors Stripe; marker position shows how decisive.

The Three Answers

1. Who has the stronger growth profile, by product x geography?
Stripe, clear

Three cells should carry the next five years, and Stripe holds the structural driver in two of them.

Adyen's guide of 21 to 23% constant-currency growth for 2026 includes about 1 point from acquisitions. (H1 2026 letter)

1001502002022202320242025Adyen 181Stripe 233both 100
Payment volume indexed to 2022 = 100, each in its own reporting currency. Adyen: 2023 EUR 970.1B (+26%, so 2022 base about EUR 770B, inferred), 2024 EUR 1,285.9B, 2025 EUR 1,394.3B (AR 2023, AR 2024, H2 2025 letter; 2025 depressed by one large customer, +21% excluding it). Stripe: 2022 $817B, 2023 about $1.0T, 2024 $1.4T, 2025 $1.9T (Stripe annual letters). Volume is used because Stripe revenue before 2024 is not reliably reported.
2. Who converts that growth into superior margins?
Adyen, narrow, and not the growth winner

Adyen's conversion is audited and mechanical, and it comes from a single platform and a thin head count. Personnel costs fell from 36.5% to 32.0% of net revenue between 2023 and 2025 as FTEs rose 14% and net revenue 45%, lifting EBITDA margin from 45.7% to 52.7%. Adyen processes about EUR 296M of volume per employee vs about EUR 151M at Stripe (2024, inferred) (AR 2023 to 2025; TechCrunch, 21 Jan 2025).

Stripe converts through price instead: roughly double the take rate on a long-tail, list-priced mix, and a press-reported free cash flow of about 47% of net revenue in 2025. Those Stripe figures are unaudited and on an undisclosed definition.

This is the run's central tension. The growth winner monetizes each unit better, while the margin winner runs each unit at lower cost. If Stripe's take rate compresses as its AI and enterprise customers scale into custom interchange-plus pricing, Adyen's cost engine becomes the decisive advantage.

FCF / net revenue30%60%Adyen 45.7%Stripe ~47% (press)gap ~1.4 pts, definitions differTake rate, FY202510bps40bpsAdyen 17.0 bpsStripe ~35.8 bps (inferred)~2.1x
Adyen FCF (EBITDA less capex and leases, pre-tax) EUR 1,081.3M / net revenue EUR 2,364.2M (AR 2025). Stripe FCF $3.2B / net revenue $6.8B (The Information, 22 Jul 2026, press; definition ND). Take rate = net revenue / volume: Adyen 17.0 bps (AR 2025); Stripe $6.8B / $1.9T (inferred; Stripe "total volume" definition may not match Adyen "processed volume"). EBIT and EBITDA margin: Adyen 46.9% and 52.7%, Stripe ND, so no dumbbell.
3. Where do the vulnerabilities sit if the tide turns?
Stripe breaks first, narrowly

Stripe. Its growth is increasingly carried by a small, fast-scaling AI cohort whose largest members can multi-source or insource. OpenAI added Adyen in H1 2026, and Anthropic is reported to be building billing and fraud tools in-house. Its long tail of startups is the first volume to shrink in a downturn. (Adyen H1 2026 letter; The Information, 4 Sep 2026, press)

Adyen. Its exposure is volume tiering and concentration. 300 merchants account for about 60% of growth, and management calls tiering "the only explanation" for take-rate moves. One large customer cut FY2025 volume growth from 21% to 8%, and EMEA growth has slowed from 26% to 15%. (H1 2026 letter and call; H2 2025 letter)

Adyen's blue-chip base bends, where Stripe's cohort-driven growth snaps.

Segment-Geography Scorecard

These six cells carry the bulk of both companies' economics. Every score is argued in the tabs below. Cell revenue is not disclosed as a cross-tab by either company, so the cells are normalized from Adyen's pillars and regions and from Stripe's disclosed customer metrics.

Cell (product x region)AdyenStripeWhy (one clause, sourced)
Enterprise online payments x EMEA43Adyen EMEA EUR 1,360.7M, 57% of FY25 net revenue, still +15% in H1 2026 (AR 2025, H1 2026 letter); Stripe counts half the DAX 40 and CAC 40 as users, but share of wallet is ND (Stripe Tour Berlin, Paris 2026)
Enterprise online payments x North America44Adyen NA +30% cc, 27% of net revenue (H1 2026 letter); Stripe home market, used by 90% of the Dow and 80% of the Nasdaq 100, US share ND (Stripe 2025 update)
Unified commerce (in-person + online) x global retail, F&B52Adyen in-person EUR 175.7B +28%, 838K terminals, 486 cross-channel merchants at scale (H1 2026 letter); Stripe Terminal volume undisclosed since 2022
Platforms / embedded payments x NA + EMEA45Adyen Platforms +40% cc, 37 platforms above EUR 1B (H1 2026 letter); Stripe serves 5M+ businesses directly or via platforms and powers Shopify (Stripe 2025 update; share lead inferred)
AI and software-native monetization (payments + billing) x global25Stripe is the default for major AI launches, with a Revenue suite near $1B run-rate plus Metronome (Stripe 2025 update, Jan 2026 close); Adyen's OpenAI win and Orb purchase are from a small base (H1 2026 letter)
Long-tail SMB and startups, self-serve x global05Stripe: 57% of 2025 new businesses were ex-US (Stripe 2025 update); Adyen is merchant-side enterprise by choice and reaches SMBs only through platforms (H1 2026 call)
How to read the scores: 5 dominant in the cell and compounding (share + price + growth) 4 advantaged and gaining share 3 holds position; grows with the market 2 subscale or stagnant; holds only by discounting or legacy 1 weak and losing share, or exiting 0 no meaningful presence

Scores are anchored to the exhibits in the three tabs and are not summed. The three lenses get their verdicts in the Three Answers above.

Adyen grows by deepening what it already owns, while Stripe grows by being present when new businesses are born.

Normalization first. Adyen reports net revenue by pillar (Digital, Unified Commerce, Platforms) and by billing region (EMEA, North America, APAC, LatAm), but never as a cross-tab. Stripe discloses only total volume, customer counts and product run-rates, and its revenue comes from press reports. So the cell view below mixes disclosed Adyen figures with Stripe signals. Where a Stripe number does not exist it is ND, and the butterfly plots growth rates rather than cell revenue, because Stripe cell revenue would have to be invented.

The headline contrast is not the growth gap itself but where it comes from. Adyen's fastest cells are Platforms (+40% cc) and North America (+30% cc), while its largest cell, Digital in EMEA, is where growth has slowed most. Stripe's growth is broad at the total level and disproportionately fed by AI and software-native customers.

AdyenStripePayment volume, FY2025+8% (+21% ex one customer)+34%Net revenue, FY2025+21% cc+33% (press)Net revenue, H1 2026+21% cc+41% (press)North America, H1 2026+30% ccNDEMEA, H1 2026+15% ccNDUnified commerce, H1 2026+27% ccNDPlatforms, H1 2026+40% ccNDBilling / revenue suiteND (Orb from Jul 2026)~2x run-rate (inferred)
Bar length = latest disclosed growth rate (capped at 50% for scale; Stripe revenue suite shown at the cap, inferred from $500M+ run-rate in the 2024 update to "on track" for $1B in the 2025 update). Adyen: H2 2025 and H1 2026 letters, constant currency where noted. Stripe: 2025 update (volume), The Information 22 Jul 2026 and Axios 19 Aug 2026 (revenue, press). ND = not disclosed.

The cells that matter

CellAdyen net rev (share)Adyen growthStripe rev (share)Stripe growthMargin signal / leader
Digital (enterprise online), all regionsEUR 1,334.9M (56%) FY25+15% cc H1'26NDNDAdyen take rate on large digital merchants tiers down with volume; Stripe leads new logos, Adyen leads scaled share of wallet
Unified Commerce, all regionsEUR 765.4M (32%) FY25+27% cc H1'26NDNDAdyen leads: terminal plus acquiring plus data on one stack
Platforms, all regionsEUR 263.8M (11%) FY25+40% cc H1'26NDNDStripe leads on breadth (Connect, Shopify); Adyen grows faster from a smaller base
Region: EMEAEUR 1,360.7M (57%)+15% ccNDNDAdyen incumbent; Stripe penetrating (800K French and 300K+ German businesses)
Region: North AmericaEUR 633.3M (27%)+30% ccNDNDStripe home market; Adyen gaining share of wallet
TotalEUR 2,364.2M+21% cc FY25~EUR 6.0B ($6.8B, press)+33% FY25, +41% H1'26 (press)Adyen 53% EBITDA margin (audited); Stripe "robustly profitable" (company)

Adyen pillar shares from AR 2025 note on net revenue; H1 2026 growth from H1 2026 letter. APAC EUR 236.5M (10%) and LatAm EUR 133.8M (6%) collapsed into the total.

Insight: Adyen's two fastest cells (Platforms, NA) are also the cells where Stripe is strongest, while its largest cell (EMEA Digital) is decelerating. Implication: Adyen's growth rate over 5 years depends on taking share in Stripe's home ground, not on defending Europe. KPI: Adyen Digital pillar cc growth at or above 15% and EMEA at or above 17% in the FY2026 letter (Feb 2027). [Source: Adyen AR 2025; H1 2026 letter]

Segment growth engines

AI and software monetization. Stripe's driver is default adoption plus attach: Billing, Metronome for usage-based billing (closed 14 Jan 2026), Link with 250M+ users, and the Agentic Commerce Protocol with OpenAI (29 Sep 2025). Adyen's response is acquired rather than organic: Orb (usage billing) and Talon.One (EUR 750M, loyalty), both closed 1 Jul 2026 and expected to add about 1 point to 2026 growth and 1 to 2 points in 2027 at about 1 point of margin dilution. It also launched Adyen Agentic and won OpenAI. Durability favors Stripe: an integrated default is harder to dislodge than a bolted-on alternative. (Stripe newsroom; Adyen deal call 23 Apr 2026; H1 2026 letter)

Unified commerce. Adyen's driver is cross-channel retailers consolidating online and in-store acquiring (Tod's moved 100+ stores and 35 markets in under three months), with 838K terminals up 27%. Stripe has Terminal (S710, T600) but no disclosed volume. The cost to grow here is hardware certification and local acquiring licenses, a multi-year build that favors Adyen. (H1 2026 letter; Stripe Sessions 2026)

Platforms. Both grow through vertical SaaS. Adyen has 293K active business customers (+51%) and expanded Toast into the US. Stripe runs Connect at far larger breadth, including Shopify. Adyen's growth here is organic. (H1 2026 letter; Stripe 2025 update)

Insight: Stripe's new growth lines are organic defaults, while Adyen's newest lines beyond payments are two 2026 acquisitions, its first ever. Implication: Adyen is paying to enter Stripe's software layer; integration risk now sits on the side that historically never did M&A. KPI: Adyen disclosure of Orb/Talon.One-attached customers, or 2027 growth contribution of at least 1 point as guided, in the H1 2027 letter (Aug 2027). [Source: Adyen M&A call 23 Apr 2026; H1 2026 letter; Stripe newsroom 14 Jan 2026]

Price control and route-to-market

Stripe sells self-serve at list price (US 2.9% + 30c online, EEA 1.5% + EUR 0.25 for standard cards) to its long tail, and custom interchange-plus to enterprise. So every long-tail customer pays a blended price that includes the scheme cost. Adyen sells direct to enterprises on interchange-plus with volume tiers, which is why its take rate falls as merchants scale ("our existing merchants give us more volume and therefore come to lower tiers", co-CEO, H1 2026 call). Stripe controls net price at the bottom of the market; Adyen trades price for share of wallet at the top. (Stripe pricing pages, Sep 2026; Adyen H1 2026 call transcript, third-party)

Insight: The take-rate gap (about 36 bps vs 17 bps) is a route-to-market difference, not a pricing-power difference within the same customer. Implication: As Stripe moves up-market its take rate should drift toward Adyen's, which is the main lever that could erode Stripe's margin lead. KPI: Stripe net revenue / total volume at or above 0.34% in 2026 (press revenue plus company volume, around mid-2027). [Source: Stripe pricing; The Information 22 Jul 2026; Adyen AR 2025]

Supply resilience

InputAdyenStripe
Scheme and rail accessOwn banking licenses EU/US/UK; direct CB and STET participant in France; UAE Category II license (2026)In-house processing per press (Payments Dive, 1 May 2024); license detail ND
ComputeOwn data centers; 2026 capex raised to 7% of net revenue to lock in supplyND
Balance sheet railsEUR 4.9B own cash, EUR 12.4B total incl. merchant funds (H1 2026)Bridge OCC trust charter conditionally approved 18 Feb 2026 (American Banker)
HardwareTerminals sourced; inventory costs in COGS EUR 102.3M FY25BBPOS acquired 2022 (own reader maker)

Competitive context

Both compete with PayPal/Braintree (Stripe's $53B+ bid with Advent was dropped on 27 Aug 2026, press), Worldpay, Checkout.com, Fiserv and JPMorgan in enterprise acquiring. Market shares are not disclosed by either company in a comparable form. Adyen claims to grow faster than the market (H1 2026 letter); Stripe's growth against global e-commerce implies it is a share-taker (inferred).

Risks by segment

AI cell. Stripe is more exposed. Large AI labs can split volume (OpenAI to Adyen) or insource (Anthropic, press 4 Sep 2026), and the cell is Stripe's fastest. EMEA enterprise. Adyen is more exposed. It is 57% of net revenue, growth has halved from 26%, and management attributes some of the slowdown to global merchants shifting where they sell (H1 2026 call). Unified commerce. Adyen is exposed only if Stripe proves in-person scale, and no evidence of that has been disclosed.

On cells alone, Stripe has the higher-probability growth path because it owns the entry point of new internet and AI businesses. Adyen has the higher-quality growth path because its revenue arrives through expanding, multi-year enterprise relationships.
In payments, power means owning the relationship the merchant cannot easily re-integrate, and each company owns a different one.
Moats
Stripe - narrow
Customers
Stripe - narrow
Suppliers
Adyen - narrow
Who sets the terms, lever by lever. Each call is argued in the sections below.

Moats: what rivals cannot copy

Adyen

Single global platform plus own licenses (High). Its banking licenses in the EU, US and UK and direct rail memberships take years of regulatory work, not money (AR 2025; H1 2026 letter).

Unified commerce footprint (High). 838K transacting terminals on the same stack as online, with 486 merchants at scale across both channels.

Enterprise share-of-wallet curve (Med). Share of wallet runs from under 20% to over 40% after year 12, but its large customers can and do reallocate (one customer cut FY25 volume growth by 13 points).

Stripe

Developer and new-business default (High). All major 2025 AI launches used it, and 57% of new businesses are ex-US. Habit is set at company formation (Stripe 2025 update).

Two-sided network (Med to High). Link has 250M+ consumers, and there is a 92% chance Stripe has seen a card before, which feeds Radar and conversion (Sessions 2026; 2024 update).

Suite breadth (Med). Billing, Tax, Capital, Issuing and stablecoins via Bridge; much of it is buyable, as Adyen's Orb deal shows.

Insight: Adyen's moat is infrastructure that takes years to license and build; Stripe's is distribution and network that takes years to earn. Implication: Distribution decides who gets the next cohort, while infrastructure decides who keeps the largest merchants. Stripe's moat is better placed for volume origination. KPI: Link users (Stripe Sessions, each spring) and Adyen transacting terminals (each half-year letter): Link above 300M and terminals above 1M by mid-2027. [Source: Stripe 2025 update, Sessions 2026; Adyen H1 2026 letter]

Customers: who controls net price and access

Adyen: direct enterprise sales, merchant-side only by choice ("large merchants consider their shoppers their domain", co-CEO, H1 2026 call), with 300 merchants at about 60% of growth. Net price falls with volume through tiers, so its customers hold price power as they scale. Stripe: self-serve list pricing to millions of businesses gives it net-price control in the long tail. Its largest customers negotiate custom pricing and, in AI, multi-source. Implication: margin pressure sits with Adyen's top merchants in a soft market and with Stripe's top AI accounts in a competitive one.

Insight: Stripe sets price for most of its customers by count; Adyen's customers set price with Adyen as they grow. Implication: Stripe has more pricing power per customer; Adyen has more revenue durability per customer. KPI: Adyen take rate holding at or above 16 bps through H2 2026 (Feb 2027 letter); Stripe named AI-lab processor changes. [Source: Adyen H1 2026 letter and call; Stripe pricing; The Information 4 Sep 2026]

Suppliers: who absorbs shocks

Adyen: it owns its licenses, scheme connections and data centers. Its costs from financial institutions ran between 6.7% and 7.9% of gross revenue across 2023 to 2025, and it pulled 2027 data-center capex forward amid supply constraints (AR 2025; H1 2026 letter). Stripe: it is reported to process in-house, but its license footprint and cost of scheme fees are ND. Its list pricing passes scheme fee changes straight through to the long tail (inferred). Implication: Adyen is more insulated from partner failure; Stripe is more able to pass cost increases through.

Insight: Both control their core rails; Adyen's control is disclosed and audited. Implication: A supplier shock is not the differentiator here, and it tilts only narrowly to Adyen. KPI: Adyen capex back to 5% of net revenue or below after 2026, as guided (FY2027 letter). [Source: Adyen H1 2026 letter; Payments Dive 1 May 2024]

The price/power triangle: top 3 cells

CellRoute controlPocket priceContinuityOutcome (share / margin)Confirming KPI
Enterprise online x NABoth directStripe above Adyen (blended vs tiered IC++)Both highAdyen share up, margin flat; Stripe share flat to up, margin down slightly as mix risesAdyen NA cc growth at or above 25% (H2 2026 letter)
Enterprise online x EMEAAdyen direct incumbent; Stripe direct challengerParity for large merchants (inferred)Adyen higher (local rails)Adyen share flat, margin flat; Stripe share upAdyen EMEA cc growth at or above 17% (FY2026 letter)
Platforms x NA + EMEAVia SaaS partners for bothStripe above (Connect pricing)Both highBoth share up; Adyen margin up from scaleAdyen platforms above EUR 1B at 45+ (H1 2027 letter)

Tension: Adyen grows fastest in NA and Platforms, exactly where Stripe holds the stronger access position. That growth is won by lower pocket price through tiering, not by price power.

The causal gap

1. Merchant mix and pricing model (Major). Stripe serves the long tail at list price, while Adyen serves enterprise on tiers. Closing this would take Adyen a self-serve motion it rejects culturally, so it is effectively not closable. 2. Software layer beyond payments (Moderate). Stripe built Billing organically and added Metronome; Adyen bought Orb and Talon.One in 2026, with integration likely to take 2 to 3 years (inferred). 3. In-person scale (Major, favors Adyen). Stripe would need certified hardware, local acquiring and retail sales capacity across dozens of markets, a multi-year build that money alone does not shortcut.

Stripe holds the narrowly stronger power position for the next decade because it controls access and net price for the merchants being created. Adyen holds the stronger position with the merchants that already exist at scale.
Adyen runs the leaner engine per unit of volume, while Stripe earns more per unit, and only one of those is audited.

Mapping note. Adyen presents costs by nature under IFRS: costs from financial institutions and terminal COGS, wages, social costs, D&A, and other operating expenses. It has no R&D or SG&A lines. COGS proxy = costs incurred from financial institutions + costs of goods sold, as % of non-interest (gross) revenue. Because Adyen books most interchange net, this gross margin is not comparable to a card acquirer that books gross. SG&A proxy = other operating expenses (which include IT and advisory), as % of net revenue. R&D is ND; the best proxy is that tech roles are 55% of FTE in 2025 and 56% in 2024. Stripe publishes no income statement, so every Stripe P&L ratio is ND. The comparable metrics are cash margin, take rate and per-employee productivity, built from press revenue and company volume and headcount, and labeled inferred.

Three years, five ratios

Metric, 3y avg (2023 to 2025)AdyenStripeGapWhat drives it
COGS proxy (% gross revenue)11.5%NDNDScheme/bank costs plus terminal COGS; net interchange presentation
R&D (% net revenue)ND (tech FTE 55%, 2y)NDNDBy-nature statement; development mostly expensed in wages
SG&A proxy (other opex % NR)15.7%NDNDSales & marketing only 2.8% of NR in 2025: direct enterprise sales, little advertising
Gross margin proxy88.5%NDNDNot comparable across presentations
EBIT margin (% NR)44.0%NDNDPersonnel fell from 36.5% to 32.0% of NR
FCF (% NR)42.7%~45.1% (2y avg, press)~2 pts to StripeDefinitions differ; Adyen pre-tax, Stripe ND
Take rate (bps)16.4~36.1 (2y avg, inferred)~2.2xLong-tail list pricing vs enterprise tiers
FCF / net revenue%42.7~45.1Take ratebps16.4~36.1Net revenue per employeeEUR k, 2024459~551Volume per employeeEUR m, 2024296~151
Adyen from AR 2023 to 2025 consolidated statements and FTE tables (year-end FTE 4,196 / 4,345 / 4,771). Stripe: FCF and net revenue press (The Information, Axios); volume from Stripe letters; headcount about 8,550 (TechCrunch, 21 Jan 2025). Lighter blue bars are press or inferred. 2023 Adyen FCF uses the pre-2024 capex definition.
Adyen, by yearCOGS / gross revPersonnel % NROther opex % NREBIT %EBITDA %Take rate bps
202312.736.516.340.445.716.8
202410.735.115.544.549.715.5
202511.232.015.446.952.717.0

EUR M: net revenue 1,626.1 / 1,996.1 / 2,364.2; personnel 594.0 / 701.2 / 756.2; other opex 264.7 / 309.6 / 363.3; EBIT 657.6 / 887.8 / 1,109.9 (AR 2024, AR 2025). 2023 EBIT includes EUR 24.3M other expense. Stripe per-year ratios: all ND.

The structural gap

The most persistent structural difference is the take rate: roughly 36 bps at Stripe vs 15.5 to 17.0 bps at Adyen in both years where Stripe data exist. It is explained by the route-to-market mechanism in the Growth Map, long-tail list pricing vs enterprise interchange-plus tiers. Adyen's offset is productivity. It handled about EUR 296M of volume per employee in 2024 vs about EUR 151M at Stripe, which is why a half-size take rate still yields a similar cash margin.

This confirms the power map in both directions. Stripe's access power shows up as price, and Adyen's infrastructure ownership shows up as cost. It also exposes a weakness in Stripe's evidence: its margin claim rests on press figures with no disclosed definition, stock-based compensation, or tax treatment. That caps confidence in any Stripe margin advantage.

Adyen runs the leaner, auditable engine. Stripe runs a richer-priced one whose true operating margin is ND.

What would flip the call

The KPI pack: 12 to 24 months

MetricThresholdBy whenIf it hits, it favorsWhere published
Stripe total volume growth, 202630% or above on $1.9T baseFeb 2027StripeStripe 2026 annual update
Stripe take rate (press net revenue / volume)0.34% or aboveMid 2027Stripe (below 0.30% favors Adyen)Press plus Stripe update
Adyen Digital pillar cc growth18% or aboveFeb 2027 (FY2026 letter)Adyen (below 12% favors Stripe)Adyen H2 2026 letter
Adyen EMEA net revenue cc growth17% or aboveAug 2027 (H1 2027 letter)AdyenAdyen shareholder letter
Adyen EBITDA margin pathUnderlying at or above 53% in 2026, above 55% by 2028Feb 2027 / Feb 2029AdyenAdyen shareholder letters
Where to spend your time
Spend the deep-dive hours on Adyen first. It is the investable company with ten years of audited filings in the research folder, and the question that decides its thesis is exactly this duel: can its share-of-wallet curve and cost engine hold while Stripe captures the next generation of merchants? Next piece of work: a filing-level read of Adyen's Digital pillar and take-rate tiering across H1 2024 to H1 2026. Track Stripe through the KPI pack, since it publishes nothing deeper to read.