Business Overview

Space Exploration Technologies Corp. (Nasdaq: SPCX)

6 September 2026 · Built from the 424(b)(4) IPO prospectus dated 12 June 2026, the Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026, and the Forms 8-K filed between 15 June and 14 August 2026 — with industry structure, competitor economics and claim verification from independent sources (FCC, FAA, BryceTech, GAO, ITU, competitor filings). This is not a valuation and not a recommendation.

This is a satellite broadband company that owns the world's dominant launch business as a cost centre, and has just bought an AI compute business with the proceeds of its own IPO.
The economic engine
One Starlink subscriber

$66 per month, down from $85 a year ago — multiplied by 12.0 million subscribers, up from 6.0 million. That unit sits inside Connectivity, which turned $4,291m of Q2 2026 revenue into $2,597m of segment adjusted EBITDA, a 61% margin. It is the only segment that makes money. Space lost $205m at the same line while flying more than half the world's orbital launches.

Starlink ARPU
$66
per month, Q2 2026 · was $85 (−22.4% y/y)
Connectivity seg. EBITDA
$2,597m
Q2 2026 · 61% of segment revenue
Group net loss
$(541)m
Q2 2026 · $(4,817)m for H1 2026
Debt vs cash
39.5 / 93.5
$bn debt & leases vs cash, 30 Jun 2026
Cycle position
Split
Connectivity at a record; Space past its own peak on volume and margin
Growth: reported vs ex-AI
92% / 58%
Q2 2026 y/y revenue, reported vs excluding the AI segment

1 · What this business actually is

Three businesses share one balance sheet. Space designs, builds and flies reusable rockets. Connectivity operates Starlink — roughly 10,200 satellites delivering broadband, enterprise, government and satellite-to-mobile service in 167 countries. AI — Grok, X and a fleet of data centres — arrived by merger in February 2026 and now consumes most of the company's capital.

Before reading any growth rate, understand what the accounting did. The xAI merger was treated as a reorganization of entities under common control, because Elon Musk controlled SpaceX, xAI and X throughout. GAAP therefore restates every historical period as though the combination had always existed. The fiscal 2023 and 2024 figures below already contain X and xAI — including the $3,775m Twitter brand impairment that drove the 2023 loss — even though SpaceX did not own them at the time.

Segments: revenue and profitability. Sources — 424B4 segment note (FY2025); Q2 2026 10-Q Note 18 (Q2 2026).
SegmentFY2025 revenueFY2025 seg. adj. EBITDAQ2 2026 revenueQ2 2026 seg. adj. EBITDA
Space4,086653962(205)
Connectivity11,3877,1684,2912,597
AI3,201(1,237)2,5611,146
Total18,6746,5847,8143,538

$m. Segment adjusted EBITDA is company-defined: segment operating income before depreciation and amortization, stock-based compensation, restructuring and impairment. The three-segment structure was adopted in Q1 2026 with all prior periods recast.

Trace one subscriber, and one launch

A Starlink subscriber pays an upfront terminal price and then a monthly fee. The terminal is a separate performance obligation recognized at delivery; the service contract is month-to-month, so each month's revenue equals that month's billing. Customers who pay in advance sit in deferred revenue — $14,286m at 30 June 2026, up from $12,116m at the end of 2025. The subscriber is cash-positive early — the inverse of a leased-equipment model, where the operator capitalises the box, collects nothing upfront and recovers it through a higher monthly fee over years. What the filings never disclose is the terminal's unit cost, its margin, or a churn rate; the only retention evidence given is that since 2023 no enterprise customer above $750,000 of annual revenue has voluntarily left.

A launch is different, and the headline number misleads. Of 165 Falcon launches in 2025, 43 were for customers and 122 were internal — the company launching its own satellites. In Q2 2026 it was 10 customer flights out of 37. Dividing Space revenue by total launches therefore produces a figure that falls as the business scales: roughly $37.1m per launch in 2023, $28.3m in 2024, $24.8m in 2025 (derived). Management confirms the mechanism directly, noting that while total Falcon launches rose from 134 to 165 in 2025, customer launches and average price per launch were relatively flat.

So launch is not principally a revenue line. It is the delivery system for the constellation, and its cost — not its price — is the product. That is why the world's dominant launch provider loses money at the operating line.

2 · Industry structure and where the profit sits

In launch, the customer buys transport. In satellite communications, the customer buys a service. The evidence says the profit pool sits with the service operator — and that within the operator, it is consumed by the capital cycle.

Rocket Lab, the only meaningful listed launch comparator, has never earned an operating profit: fiscal 2025 revenue of $601.8m, up 38%, gross margin 34.4%, operating loss $228.8m. Satellite operators report high headline margins — Viasat 33.4% EBITDA in FY2026, SES 45.2% in H1 2026, Eutelsat 51.2% in FY2025-26 — but Eutelsat spent roughly €900m of capex against €1,236m of revenue. High margin, negative free cash flow. That is the industry's real signature, and it is the shape Connectivity takes as its fleet ages. The third stage of the chain, satellite manufacturing, is structurally broken: seven commercial geostationary orders in 2024, the fewest since 1994, and Airbus, Thales and Leonardo agreed in October 2025 to merge their space units.

Roughly 38% of every orbital launch on Earth in 2025 was SpaceX launching SpaceX hardware — 122 of its 165 flights, out of a global 325. Derived from BryceTech launch data and the company's own key business metrics. Global launch volume is not an independent demand signal; it is a derivative of four or five constellation capex decisions.

The competitors, from independent evidence

SpaceX names United Launch Alliance, Arianespace and Northrop Grumman itself. The outside record is unflattering to all of them. ULA's Vulcan flew USSF-87 in February 2026 with a solid-rocket-booster anomaly and has never approached its stated cadence; U.S. Space Force awards price ULA at roughly $214m per NSSL Lane 2 mission against SpaceX's $142.8m. Blue Origin flew New Glenn three times in nineteen months, lost a payload on NG-3, and on 28 May 2026 lost a fuelled vehicle in an explosion at LC-36 — its only pad — traced to a BE-4 main oxygen valve; it has no fiscal 2026 national security missions assigned. Ariane 6 has four successes in sixteen months. China's LandSpace landed a Zhuque-3 booster on its second flight.

The competitor that matters is on the broadband side, and it has a deadline. Amazon's constellation — named in SpaceX's own filing only as "Amazon LEO" — needed 1,616 satellites in orbit by 30 July 2026 and had roughly 369 in June. The FCC granted a limited waiver rather than the two-year extension Amazon sought, and the 30 July 2029 hundred-percent deadline stands, with post-deadline satellites demoted in spectrum processing priority. Amazon must average about 950 satellites a year for three years while New Glenn has no operational pad. The likeliest resolution is that Amazon pays SpaceX to launch a competing constellation — which tells you exactly where the bottleneck in this industry is.

And the legacy operators show what LEO does to incumbents. Viasat's U.S. fixed broadband base is down to roughly 130,000 subscribers at $113 ARPU; HughesNet fell to 681,000, down 20% year on year, and EchoStar has flagged going-concern doubt. LEO did not compress the industry's price. It took the incumbents' customers.

Testing what the company says about itself

Each prospectus claim against independent evidence.
ClaimVerdictBasis
Over 80% of world mass to orbit each year since 2023SupportedBryceTech Q3 2025: 83% of global upmass, 97% of U.S. upmass. Provider-level full-year series is not public, so directional rather than audited.
~75% of active maneuverable satellites are StarlinkSupported10,742 Starlink of 14,124 maneuverable satellites (McDowell, 13 Aug 2026) = 76.1%. But share of all active satellites is 66.0% — the "maneuverable" framing flatters by ~10 points.
Falcon 9 cut cost to ~$2,700/kg from $18,500/kgPartially supportedTraced to NASA (Jones, NTRS 20200001093, 2018): list price ÷ maximum expendable payload, not measured cost; a 2018 figure the filing attributes to 2010. SpaceX's own published rideshare price in Feb 2026 is $7,000/kg marginal.
~70 satellites and ~200,000 terminals per weekPartly verifiedThe satellite rate cross-checks against deployment counts (~55–70/week flown) but covers a five-month window. The terminal rate has no independent confirmation; the nearest primary datapoint is a SpaceX engineering director citing 15,000 kits/day in March 2025.
Reusability at industrial scale cannot be replicatedPartly contradictedBlue Origin landed and reflew a booster; LandSpace landed Zhuque-3 on flight two. The technology is replicable; the cadence is not — yet. Cadence is a function of pads and engines, a two-to-four year gap, not a permanent one.
Current cost per kilogram to orbitNot disclosedOnly historical NASA reference points and an aspirational 99% Starship reduction appear anywhere in the filings.

Three constraints genuinely bind in this industry: pads (FAA and Space Force approvals cap SLC-40 at 120 launches a year, LC-39A at 20, SLC-4E at 100 — about 240 approved Falcon slots), engines and tanks, and flight count, since reliability is bought with flights and flights cannot be bought with money. Capital does not bind entry: total global space start-up investment was $10.9bn in 2025. Nor does FAA licensing, frequently cited as a bottleneck, which has not gated any U.S. programme since Part 450 began permitting portfolio licences.

The industry rewards the vertically integrated operator that owns launch, spectrum, manufacturing and several demand tiers at once — because that is the only configuration in which the transport stage's lack of profit does not matter. SpaceX is the only company that is all four. The question the evidence raises is not whether it is the right kind of company for this industry, but whether it is now trying to be that company for a second industry, on the same balance sheet, at the moment the first one's replacement bill comes due.

3 · Growth, decomposed

Revenue rose 91.9% in Q2 2026, to $7,814m. That number describes almost nothing about the business that existed a year earlier.

Q2 2026 versus Q2 2025, $m. Source: Q2 2026 10-Q, Notes 3 and 18; growth shares derived.
Revenue lineQ2 2025Q2 2026ChangeShare of growth
Space746962+2166%
Connectivity2,5884,291+1,70345%
AI — advertising (legacy X)426367(59)(2%)
AI — solutions & infrastructure3112,194+1,88350%
Total reported4,0717,814+3,743+91.9%
Memo: excluding the AI segment3,3345,253+1,919+57.6%

The AI segment appears in the prior-year comparative only because of common-control reorganization accounting. SpaceX did not own xAI or X in Q2 2025.

Half of the reported growth is a revenue stream that did not exist a year ago, sold largely to one new counterparty. Management attributes $1,600m of the AI increase specifically to having begun selling cloud services; a customer disclosed only as "Customer B" was 19.5% of consolidated Q2 revenue and relates entirely to AI. Meanwhile the legacy advertising line inside that same segment is shrinking. Excluding AI, the space and connectivity businesses grew 57.6% — the more meaningful rate, and still a strong one.

The half-year is the corrective. H1 2026 revenue grew 53.7%, but Space revenue fell 1.9%, because customer launches dropped from 21 to 17. A business flying 77 Falcon missions in six months and booking less launch revenue than the prior year is one whose launch volume has decoupled from its launch revenue.

The drivers, ranked

Structural
Starlink subscriber additions

6.0 million to 12.0 million in twelve months, served by capacity already in orbit. The offset is that ARPU fell 22.4% to $66, and the company expects further decline as international mix rises. Each unit is worth less, so the segment must add subscribers faster than price falls. In Q2 2026 it did, by a wide margin.

Structural
The enterprise, government and mobile tiers

Enterprise and government revenue inside Connectivity rose from $867m to $1,806m year on year. Aviation, maritime, land mobility, Starshield and satellite-to-mobile through ~30 mobile-network partners monetize the same satellites at higher revenue per unit of capacity. This is the highest-quality growth in the company, because it raises revenue per satellite without raising the satellite count.

Management-driven · unproven
AI cloud compute

$311m to $2,194m in a quarter, concentrated in one customer, on contracts the company itself discloses as terminable on 90 days' notice after an initial ramp period. The revenue is real; its durability is a different question, and the filing is the source of the doubt.

Cyclical · currently negative
Space customer launches

Down from 21 to 17 in the first half. Q2 Space growth came from mix and a single additional customer launch, not volume. BryceTech's Q2 2026 data shows global spacecraft deployed down 4% and upmass down 2% year on year.

Temporary in effect, permanent in dilution
Acquisitions

Cursor closed 14 August 2026 for 389.3 million Class A shares at a $60.0bn implied equity value — after the reporting period, with no pro-forma financials filed and no disclosed revenue. Mesh Optical closed 6 July for ~3.8 million shares. EchoStar remains open. None is in any reported figure.

There is no financial guidance anywhere in the prospectus or the 10-Q. The company also disclosed at IPO that it will not use wire services to distribute results, publishing instead through its investor site and its own X account. An investor gets the filings, and nothing else.

4 · Margin, cash and where the capital goes

Connectivity turned $4,291m of Q2 revenue into $2,597m of segment adjusted EBITDA, a 61% margin, because once a satellite is in orbit and a terminal is in a customer's hands, another month of service costs little beyond ground infrastructure and payment processing. But not every dollar of that revenue is the same dollar.

Two revenue dollars, and a mix that is still shifting

Connectivity sells two things and the filings separate them. Products revenue — Starlink Kits, all of it attributable to Connectivity — was $1,093m in FY2023, $1,470m in FY2024 and $1,510m in FY2025: up 2.7% in a year when the subscriber base roughly doubled. Q2 2026 was $461m against $403m, up 14% against 101% subscriber growth. Realised revenue per terminal is falling steeply, alongside the company's own statement that it has significantly lowered production costs and scaled output to ~200,000 kits a week. Whether hardware is sold below cost is not disclosed and cannot be established from these documents.

Hardware's share of Connectivity revenue. Sources: 424B4 Note 3 and segment note; Q2 2026 10-Q Notes 3 and 18. The share is derived — the company does not present this ratio.
 FY2023FY2024FY2025Q2 2026
Products revenue, $m (Starlink Kits)1,0931,4701,510461
Connectivity segment revenue, $m3,8697,59911,3874,291
Hardware as a share of the segment28.2%19.3%13.3%10.7%

Q2 2026 is a single quarter set against full years.

The series matters because the two dollars carry different margins. A service dollar is close to pure contribution once the satellite is in orbit and the terminal is in a customer's hands; a hardware dollar is at best thin. As hardware falls from 28% of segment revenue to 11%, reported Connectivity margin improves on mix alone, before any operating improvement at all — and most of that tailwind has already been taken. The share cannot fall much further, so within a few years mix stops flattering the margin and the trend has to be carried by the service line on its own.

The same split shapes cash. Because the terminal is paid for at sign-up and many service, enterprise and government contracts are prepaid, growth in the customer base converts directly into deferred revenue. In H1 2026 the movement in deferred revenue supplied $2,169m of $3,466m of operating cash flow — 63% of it, against $680m in the prior-year half. Management attributes the increase to upfront payments from Space and Connectivity customers, so launch deposits are in there and this is not a Starlink-only effect. The consequence is directional and testable: a deceleration in customer additions removes a working-capital contribution as well as revenue, so operating cash flow would decelerate faster than revenue does.

Broadband satellites are depreciated over five years, first-generation mobile satellites over three. Flight vehicles are depreciated by flights, not years: Falcon 9 boosters are engineered for up to 40 flights but carry an accounting life capped at 25. The company gives the sensitivity outright — a one-year change in average satellite useful life would have moved fiscal 2025 operating income by roughly $480m, while a five-flight change in average remaining booster flights is immaterial. The asset that matters is the satellite, not the rocket.

Revenue compounds; free cash flow inverts
0 +20 −25 US$ bn Revenue 10.4 18.7 12.5 Free cash flow 0.1 −14.0 −25.0 FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 H1 2026
Free cash flow is operating cash flow less purchases of property, plant and equipment; it is not a company-reported measure. H1 2026 is a six-month figure and is not annualised. Sources: 424B4 consolidated statements; Q2 2026 10-Q.
The financial spine, $m.
 FY2023FY2024FY2025H1 2026
Revenue10,38714,01518,67412,508
Adjusted EBITDA (company-defined)3,8215,3506,5844,665
Income (loss) from operations(3,505)466(2,589)(2,086)
Net income (loss)(4,628)791(4,937)(4,817)
Capital expenditure(4,415)(11,163)(20,737)(28,476)
Free cash flow (derived)105(5,387)(13,952)(25,010)

Comparability warnings. (i) FY2023–25 include xAI and X under common-control reorganization accounting even though SpaceX did not own them; (ii) the FY2023 loss is driven by a $3,775m impairment of the Twitter brand on the rebrand to X; (iii) the segment structure changed in Q1 2026 with prior periods recast; (iv) a five-for-one stock split in May 2026 restates all share data; (v) H1 2026 includes a $1,545m loss on debt extinguishment.

The gap between compounding EBITDA and a $25.0bn half-year cash outflow is entirely capital expenditure, and capital expenditure is almost entirely one segment. Of $28,476m spent in H1 2026, $23,551m was AI, against $2,699m for Connectivity and $2,226m for Space. In Q2 alone AI capex was $15,828m — 86% of the company total.

Capital expenditure by segment, H1 2026 vs H1 2025 ($m)
AI 3,316 (H1 2025) 23,551 Connectivity 1,944 2,699 Space 1,705 2,226 H1 2026 H1 2025
Source: Q2 2026 10-Q, Note 18 supplemental segment information. The core space business now receives roughly one dollar of capital for every five that go to AI.

Connectivity self-funds: its H1 segment adjusted EBITDA of $4,684m exceeds its $2,699m of capex. The satellite business generates surplus cash at its current fleet size and age. That surplus, plus $85,675m of net IPO proceeds and $51,812m of new borrowing, is being routed into AI data centres. Debt refinancing cost a $1,545m extinguishment loss and $1,153m of premium to clear the legacy X and xAI stack; total debt and finance leases stood at $39,512m against $93,522m of cash. There are no dividends and no buybacks.

The ranking says something plain about how management thinks: it has decided the scarce satellite and launch franchise is a funding source for an adjacent bet, and used a public listing to make that bet larger. Whether that is right is a judgement about AI, not about space.

Three things sit outside every number above

5 · Cyclicality, and the constraint that compounds

A month-to-month broadband subscription is closer to a utility bill than a capital good, so Connectivity is the least cyclical part of the business. Space and AI are the opposite: launch demand derives from constellation capital budgets, AI compute demand from a handful of hyperscaler capex decisions. Cycle exposure is concentrated in the two segments that do not currently make money.

Launch volume is at or near a top. After 25% growth in 2025 to 325 orbital launches, BryceTech's Q2 2026 data shows launches up only 3% year on year with spacecraft down 4% and upmass down 2% — and Bryce's own commentary notes that quarterly totals now track a handful of constellation calendars more than broad appetite for orbit. New reusable capacity is arriving into that deceleration. SpaceX's own customer launches fell from 21 to 17 in the half, Q2 upmass fell from 652 to 485 metric tons, and Space segment adjusted EBITDA went from +$131m to −$556m. On volume and on margin, Space is past its own recent peak. Connectivity is at a record on every metric — but on a young fleet.

A fleet authorized at 15,000 satellites on a five-year life needs roughly 3,000 replacements a year — about 58 a week, some 82% of the stated 70-a-week production rate, and on the order of 107 Falcon 9 launches annually simply to hold the constellation flat. Inferred from the FCC-authorized fleet size, the disclosed five-year broadband satellite life and the stated manufacturing rate. The company publishes no replenishment figure. Roughly 10,200 satellites are currently on orbit; SpaceX's semi-annual FCC constellation report for Dec 2025–May 2026 discloses 260 deorbits, low only because the fleet is young.

This reframes Starship. It is discussed as a growth vehicle, and it is one — Falcon 9 and Falcon Heavy are explicitly not capable of deploying the next-generation V3 and V2 Mobile satellites, so the constellation roadmap is structurally gated on it. But its first economic job is refinancing an obligation already on the balance sheet. Twelve flight tests have flown, the twelfth in May 2026; payload delivery is expected in the second half of 2026; orbital propellant transfer has not been demonstrated or attempted, and GAO confirmed as of May 2026 that SpaceX has not yet demonstrated orbital propellant storage and transfer. Space R&D ran at $3,004m in fiscal 2025, expensed rather than capitalized because the vehicle is pre-commercial.

The downside case requires no failure, only arithmetic. If Starship slips, replenishment of a growing fleet runs on Falcon 9 at a cadence approaching the approved pad limits; a credible reusable competitor makes the $82m NSSL Lane 1 price contestable in a segment with no margin buffer; the U.S. addressable niche keeps shrinking as fibre and fixed wireless build out — rural wireline availability at 100/20 Mbps rose from 67% to 75.3% in two years, and only 10.6 million Americans, 3.1%, now lack it; and LEO mix keeps diluting margins industry-wide. It would show up as Connectivity growth decelerating while replenishment capex compounds — visible in the deorbit-to-launch ratio long before it reaches the subscriber count.

Durable — likely intact in ten years

  • Launch cadence and pad infrastructure no competitor can match on a two-to-four year view
  • Vertical integration across launch, satellite manufacture, terminals and ground network
  • Regulatory market access in 167 countries, and the spectrum position once EchoStar closes
  • Enterprise, government and mobile tiers monetizing capacity the consumer business already pays for
  • An installed terminal base and a network effect in inter-satellite mesh capacity

Borrowed — currently helping, not permanent

  • A young satellite fleet whose replacement bill has barely begun
  • AI cloud revenue concentrated in one customer, on contracts terminable at 90 days' notice
  • ARPU held up by a subscriber base still weighted to higher-priced developed markets
  • Government revenue at about one-fifth of the total, on appropriations that have already been volatile
  • $93.5bn of IPO and debt proceeds funding a capex programme operating cash flow does not cover

What to monitor, and where it is published

IndicatorWhy it mattersWhere it is published
Deorbits versus replacement launchesThe direct read on the replenishment treadmill; leads any margin effect by quartersSpaceX semi-annual constellation report to the FCC (IBFS)
Global and provider launch counts, spacecraft, upmassWhether launch demand outside self-supply exists at allBryceTech quarterly Bryce Briefing; planet4589.org
Starlink subscribers and ARPU togetherNeither number means anything aloneQuarterly 10-Q, key business metrics
Amazon's satellite count vs the 30 July 2029 deadlineDecides whether Amazon becomes SpaceX's largest launch customer or its most damaged competitorFCC IBFS filings
NSSL mission assignments and pricesThe cleanest public series on launch pricingSpace Systems Command award announcements
Starship flights; orbital propellant transfer demoGates the next-generation constellation and the cost of replenishmentFAA mishap determinations; GAO annual NASA Assessments
Blue Origin's LC-36 return to flight; Rocket Lab's NeutronThe two events that would make reusable cadence contestableCompany and FAA announcements; RKLB filings
U.S. broadband availability at 100/20 MbpsMeasures the addressable market shrinking under the consumer businessFCC biennial Section 706 report

6 · Risks the cycle does not capture

What the sources could not answer

These are gaps in the filings, not failures of research — and each would change the analysis.

Three of these rank above the rest before a thesis could be formed: consumer churn, the dollar cost of the replenishment cycle, and whether AI cloud revenue is contracted for years or renewable at ninety days.

7 · Takeaways